Please note that you are using an outdated version of Internet Explorer which is not compatible with some elements of the site. We strongly urge you to update to a newer version for optimal browsing experience.

KwaZulu Natal

KwaZulu Natal
KwaZulu-Natal is known as the garden province of South Africa, as a result of its lush vegetation, variety
of landscapes, subtropical climate and warm waters. Also referred to as the Kingdom of the Zulu, this province runs from the east coast of South Africa towards the majestic Drakensberg Mountains. KZN borders Swaziland and Mozambique in the north and the Eastern Cape Province in the south. 

KwaZulu-Natal is broken up into eleven district and is home to approximately 10.2 million people. The eleven districts which "Durbanites" call home are:

•             Battlefields

•             Drakensburg

•             Durban/eThekwini

•             Elephant Coast

•             Pietermaritzburg/Midlands

•             North Coast

•             South Coast

•             Zululand

The coastline of Durban and its surrounds is one of the fastest-growing urban areas in South Africa with the Durban harbour being the busiest in South Africa and one of the 10 largest in the world. 

KwaZulu-Natal is home to several popular coastal holiday resorts, such as Port Shepstone, Umhlanga Rocks and Margate. These locations are popular amongst residents due the Blue Flag status awarded to most of these beaches. Some of these beaches include Hibberdene, Margate, Ramsgate and Marina Beach. A Blue Flag is an award given to public beaches which meet the 'user-friendly' environmental requirements and standards in terms of safety, cleanliness, amenities and maintenance. 

Further inland you will find Pietermaritzburg, the capital of KwaZulu-Natal, as well as other towns such as Newcastle, Ladysmith and Richmond, which are known for mixed agriculture. 

The city of Durban is the economic hub of the province and was developed around the frequent use of Durban’s working harbour. There are plenty of attractions for Durban families, most of which are located along the Durban Beachfront

There are a number of popular areas in which to buy property in Kwazulu-Natal, including Amanzimtoti, Ballito, Durban Central, Empangeni, Gillitts, Hillcrest, Hilton, Kloof, Ladysmith, Midlands, Mooi River, Mount Edgecombe, Newcastle, Pinetown, Richards Bay, Scottburgh, Umhlanga and Westville.

Your browser is out of date!

It looks like you are using an outdated version of Internet Explorer.

If you are using Internet Explorer 8 or higher, please verify that your Internet Explorer compatibility view settings are not enabled.

For the best browsing experience, update to the latest Version of Internet Explorer or try out Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

Please contact our Property24 Support Team for further assistance. Tel. +27 (0)861 111 724